Sunday Preparation

So, my Sunday routine includes making food for the week, planning my Crossfit classes and general relaxing.

Meal Prep

The past few months I have been practising preparing food for the week. It started with just breakfast, but I am now getting to the point where I can prepare about 60-80% of my food for the week. I discovered two weeks ago that we have a proper farmer’s market up the road from us (Notting Hill Farmer’s Market) which makes me ridiculously excited as I can now make food with seasonal vegetables and fresh meat.

14724647_10157609135655486_3408913676913957391_n
(From top left to right: Slow cooker Beef Stew,   Beet, spinach & goat’s cheese couscous, Roasted Golden and ‘normal’ Beetroot, my pretty hand, Sweet Potato Chai spiced scones and Grown Up Rice Krispie treats)

There were some fun escapades while making these treats, including adding lavender instead of rosemary to the stew (It looked the same, OK?), pretending that the beetroot juice was blood (it is Halloween soon!) and fighting off my husband to ensure that I could at least get some of the rise ‘n shine bars into the fridge)

Crossfit Classes

I usually only book my crossfit classes a week in advance. I am still trying to find a routine that works – so far doing the morning class at 7am works well. The disadvantages include waking up and leaving the house by 6am and, if it is a heavy class, resisting the urge to sleep halfway through the day. The advantage is I feel so much more energised, and smug, doing the workout in the morning. I also have the evenings to do other things like play games or watch TV Series’ This week I am going to try going to the 7am class on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Lots of early starts but consistency is key. I am finding that, because you lose the money if you cancel or don’t show up, it ensures that I actually go (rather than hit the snooze button)

Remembrance

11055658_1547405365541616_568636213_n

This day, three years ago, my grandmother passed away. She was a beautiful, strong, loving woman. She taught me so many things from cooking, sewing, dinner parties, standing your ground, singing and putting your family first. I am thankful that I got to say goodbye, but there is still a heavy feeling when I remember her. Every time I bake, I think of her – I wish I could ask her for the secret to the perfect scone.

I am glad you are home, Gran, walk with me in the garden of the living while I continue your legacy

2 thoughts on “Sunday Preparation

Leave a comment